Living in peace as some people believe, is a factor of how much trouble you cause for yourself. ‘I would rather not try it than trying it and getting myself into trouble’.

This made me remember my university days at the time when I just got my 512 megabyte RAM Acer laptop. I had worked on desktop windows computers for a while before that time and so I could boast of being able to try my hands on some default applications, Microsoft word being the most popular. With that seemingly great knowledge, I could say the laptop was not extremely useless in my hand on the one hand. On the other hand, I often tried to go beyond my knowledge limit and experiment with the system, maybe trying to press the F8 key while I had just switched on my computer, looking forward to knowing what is really working in the whole system and why and how is a computer system formatted. Sometimes I would think of my 3 gigabytes saved videos and documents; what happens to all that if I go ahead is the question that comes to my mind and then I would rather not try to proceed in my experiments and even sometimes when I try, I find myself in a mess of the system, running to a friend who luckily would not ask me to pay.

Life is full of risks and challenges; therefore, trying to stay safe by avoiding all challenges also has its disadvantages. Ben Carson, the great neurosurgeon in one of his books, ‘Take the risk’ explained a way by which he takes decisions using the best and worst case analysis. There are some risks one would have to take to achieve some goals in life; these may be different as regards specific types of career paths or even one’s determination.

There is a popular saying that ‘experience is the best teacher’ and in the context of this note I would like to define experience as an act that is acquired through practice. In a piece, titled CodeKata (how to become a better developer) , on codkata.pragprog.com The writer emphasized the need for programmers and developers to create time for practice instead of always trying to learn on the job through live applications, problems or errors. This implies that one can actually learn a lot of things in the corner of one’s room by creating experiences which are in most cases only known to you. Sometimes some of your experiments may be costly but as rightly said, ‘failure does not come when you try something and it did not work as expected, it comes when you refuse to try again’.

Back to the story of my university days, I discovered the need to really give a trial to some of my wishes and closed my eyes to every bit of fear that had discouraged me from experimenting. I got some additional tools and software even though I did not know the correct configuration or specifications needed, I just wanted to try. After all, it was my laptop. To cut the story short, after days of continual practice, I discovered I started understanding some terms that emanates when my so called techie-friends were discussing, I was able to pick one or two corrections for my mistakes and I very much appreciated watching people work on faulty or dead systems.

Items and materials around you especially the ones you own are subjected to you and in no way is it sensible for you to make them control you. Decide what you want and try it out, it could be a great resource to your long awaited breakthrough. Even if your environment says no, you have got to be determined to say yes.

Leave a Reply

